Hong Kong 4As Students' Award 2023  Hong Kong 4As Students' Award 2023

Dr. Stephanie Jean Tsang, Assistant Professor, and Dr. Dominic Yeo, Associate Professor and Associate Head of the Department of Communication Studies, have been recognized for their outstanding contributions. Hong Kong Baptist University awarded them for their early career research involvements and, respectively, for their service. The two COMS faculty members were praised for impacting the students, the research community, and society. 

Dr. Stephanie Jean Tsang has an impressive portfolio early in her career. Her achievements include publishing one edited book, nine book chapters, 20 journal articles, and 45 refereed conference papers, accruing over 670 citations in total. Dr. Tsang has excelled in securing research funding and obtaining three external and nine internal grants, exceeding three million Hong Kong dollars. Her expertise in misinformation research, which has attracted significant attention and led to over 20 media interviews, locally and internationally, proves her impactful work.

Dr. Dominic Yeo has demonstrated exceptional dedication and commitment to HKBU and the community. As Chair of the Department’s Research and Development Committee for the past four years, he has cultivated a culture of quality research and ethical practices that advances HKBU’s academic reputation. As a departmental representative in the Senate, he has contributed to setting guidelines for students on academic integrity. He also serves on the editorial boards of flagship communication journals. Dr. Yeo’s influence beyond academia is showcased by his role as a judge for the prestigious David Ogilvy Awards for Excellence in Advertising Research by The Advertising Research Foundation in New York, an evidence to his recognition and influence in the field.